Thursday, February 10, 2011

Shortlist for the HarperCollins Varuna Awards 2010

According to Varuna there were over 200 entries for the 2010 HarperCollins Varuna manuscript development award. The program provides five new or emerging writers each year with the experience of working closely with a senior in-house editor from HarperCollins Publishers to develop a book-length manuscript.

Fifteen shortlisted applicants will be awarded a discounted Writing Development Program with a member of the Varuna Creative Team.

Congratulations to all on the shortlist.


Sally Bothroyd: "A Coco Jackson Mystery"
Bill Collopy: "The Hope"
Katherine Delaney: "Miss Kitty's Ghost"
Tim Denoon: “Wilson Turner” (Fiction)
Kathleen Epelde: “The Weight of Love” (Memoir)
S J Finn: “Moral Inconvenience” (Fiction)
Lisa Foley: “Doing Something Marvellous” (Young Adult Fiction)
Peter Fraser: “Through the Heads” (Fiction)
Susanna Freymark: “Sex, love and losing February” (Fiction)
Anne Hedigan: "Psychomachia"
Heather Taylor Johnson: "Pursuing Love and Death"
Wendy Joyce: "Rue du Calvaire"
Jayne Kader: “Mrs Morris for Beginners”
David Kelly: “State of Origin” (Memoir)
Simon Luckhurst: “A Lonely Business” (Biography)
Dave Olsen: "Contagion"
Helena Pastor: “Iron Men” (Memoir)
John Pitt: “Dirty Money” (Fiction)
Robert Szostakiewicz: “The Pendulum” (Memoir)
Greg Woodland: “Pangs” (Fiction)

The five winners will be announced 28 February 2011.

No comments:

Post a Comment